Dr. iur. Alexander Meier

Attorney at law (Rechtsanwalt, admitted to the bar 2000), Partner

Practice areas

Dr. Alexander Meier has more than 18 years of relevant professional experience as an external attorney and inhouse lawyer in the field of pharmaceutical law (life science). He specializes in European and German regulatory law relating to chemical and biological pharmaceuticals (including advanced therapies) and medical devices, and all related regulatory issued. Most recently, Alexander Meier worked for Hoyng Rokh Monegier in Amsterdam and Munich. As of May 2006, Alexander Meier worked for Novartis for 11 years with increasing responsibilities, first in Holzkirchen for the Generics Division as Head of Legal and Compliance Office for Sandoz/Hexal Germany and thereafter in the Group Headquarters in Basel, where he served, amongst others as, Global Head, Legal of TechOps, Regulatory and Development for Novartis Pharma for the Originator Division and as Head of Legal, Global and Pharma Drug Development for Novartis across all Divisions. This included in particular legal advice for all global development functions as well as and regulatory issues for the entire product portfolio of Novartis' business areas (general medicine and oncology including cell & gene therapy products) including compliance.

Dr. Alexander Meier advises and represents national and international pharmaceutical and medical device companies in all areas of pharmaceutical law (life science) (AMG including GxP and Medical Affairs, HWG, MPG), competition law and food law. He is extensively involved in regulatory affairs as well as in product liability and compliance. A particular specialization of the firm's legal advice lies in the field of biopharmaceuticals, in particular cell and gene therapy products, as well as advanced therapy medicinal products (ATMPs). With over 18 years of experience in Germany and Europe, he has particularly extensive practical knowledge of regulatory exclusivity rights (document protection and orphan market exclusivity).

Dr. Alexander Meier is the author of numerous specialist publications and a regular speaker on all aspects of pharmaceutical law. He is co-editor and author of the second edition of the textbook "Pharmarecht" published by C.H.Beck.

Dr. Alexander Meier is a lecturer at the Philipps-Universität Marburg within the framework of the Master's programme "Pharma Law LL.M." and a lecturer at the European Center of Pharmaceutical Medicine (ECPM) of the University of Basel within the framework of the Life Science Course there.

Publications anzeigen/ausblenden

Lectures

Current seminars anzeigen/ausblenden

Dr. iur. Alexander Meier

Rechtsanwalt (seit 2000), Partner

Ausbildung

Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Augsburg und der Universität Lausanne.

Tätigkeitsfelder

Dr. Alexander Meier verfügt über mehr als 18 Jahre einschlägiger Berufserfahrung als externer Anwalt und Firmenanwalt im Bereich des Pharmarechts. Er ist spezialisiert auf europäische und deutsche Regulierungsangelegenheiten in Bezug auf chemisch und biologische Arzneimittel (inklusive neuartige Therapien) und Medizinprodukte. Zuletzt war Alexander Meier bei Hoyng Rokh Monegier in Amsterdam und München tätig. Davor war Alexander Meier 11 Jahre für Novartis mit wachsender Verantwortung tätig, zunächst als Leiter Recht für Sandoz/Hexal Deutschland und sodann als Global Head, Legal of TechOps, Regulatory and Development für Novartis Pharma. Zuletzt besetzte Alexander Meier die Position des Head of Legal, Global und Pharma Drug Development von Novartis, welches insbesondere die rechtliche Beratung aller globalen Entwicklungsfunktionen sowie regulatorische Fragestellungen für das gesamte Produktportfolio der Geschäftsbereiche von Novartis (Allgemeinmedizin und Onkologie einschließlich Zell- & Gentherapieprodukte) umfasste. Zuvor hat er mehr als fünf Jahre in zwei auf Pharmarecht spezialisierten Anwaltskanzleien in München gearbeitet und hier sowohl Originator- als auch Generikafirmen beraten.

Dr. Alexander Meier berät und vertritt nationale und internationale Pharma- und Medizinprodukteunternehmen auf sämtlichen Gebieten des Pharmarechts (AMG inklusive GxP und Medical Affairs, HWG, MPG), Wettbewerbsrecht und im Lebensmittelrecht. Er ist umfassend tätig in arzneimittelrechtlichen Zulassungs- und medizinprodukterechtlichen Zertifizierungsverfahren (Regulatory Affairs) sowie im Bereich der Produkthaftung und Compliance. Eine besondere Spezialisierung der rechtlichen Beratung liegt im Bereich der Biopharmazeutika und dabei insbesondere für Zell- & Gentherapieprodukte bei den sog. Arzneimitteln für neuartige Therapien („Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products“ - ATMPs). Bei regulatorischen Exklusivitätsrechten (Unterlagenschutz und Orphan Marktexklusivität) verfügt er mit über 18 Jahren Erfahrung in Deutschland und Europa über besonders umfangreiche Praxiskenntnisse.

Dr. Alexander Meier ist Autor zahlreicher Fachpublikationen und regelmäßig Referent zu allen Themen des Pharmarechts. Er ist Mit-Herausgeber und -Autor des im C.H.Beck zwischenzeitlich in zweiter Auflage erschienen Lehrbuchs „Pharmarecht“.

Dr. Alexander Meier ist Lehrbeauftragter an der Philipps-Universität Marburg im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs „Pharmarecht LL.M.“ sowie Dozent am European Center of Pharmaceutical Medicine (ECPM) der Universität Basel im Rahmen des dortigen Life Science Kurses.

Publikationen anzeigen/ausblenden

Vortragstätigkeiten

Aktuelle Vorträge anzeigen/ausblenden