Our history

50 years experience

The firm's name goes back to its founders, Professor Dr. Albert Preu and Dr. Manfred Bohlig, LLM (Harvard).


At the end of the 1940s, Albert Preu graduated from the University of Erlangen with a degree in law and started working as a lawyer in Nuremberg. In 1959 he moved to Munich and in the same year founded a law firm focusing on intellectual property rights. In 1964 he joined forces with Manfred Bohlig, thus laying the foundation for the partnership Preu Bohlig & Partner.


As the law firm grew with the new partners Matthias Brandi-Dohrn and Lutz Donle - who, as a former judge of a patent court division, introduced his "view from the other side" to the office - at the end of the 1960s, the offices were moved from the city centre to Munich Schwabing, where it is still to be found to date.

Expansion of practice areas

Apart from the field of intellectual property with traditional emphasis on patent law, the areas of commercial law, company law, tax law and labour law have been intensified since the 1970s. In the 1990s the law firm further broadened its scope to tax services and auditing.

New offices

At the same time the firm set up further offices in Germany. Immediately after the "Wende" (German reunification), Preu Bohlig & Partner established the Berlin office and only a few years later the Hamburg and Duesseldorf offices followed.


Anniversary of the law firm

In 2009 Preu Bohlig & Partner celebrated their 50-year anniversary. Anniversary celebrations on the topics "Shaping the future", "Trademark law" and "Patent law" were organised for clients at our various offices.



The founder Prof. Dr. Albert Preu

To date, Prof. Dr. Albert Preu is regarded as one of the outstanding lawyers in the field of intellectual property.


After graduating at the end of the 1940s from the University of Erlangen with a degree in law, Albert Preu developed his passion for patent law and started working as a lawyer. As Munich was the centre of patent law, Albert Preu moved there and set up a law firm focusing on intellectual property rights in 1959.


He kept the ties with the University of Erlangen as assistant lecturer for intellectual property and later as honorary professor. He started the "Preu-Course" in which since then we have trained future patent attorneys for their final exams.


Albert Preu represented clients in numerous proceedings before all instance courts, the Federal Patent Court as well as the Federal Supreme Court and considerably influenced the established case law relating to intellectual property.


His comprehensive knowledge, his rich experience, his creative vision and above all his human attitude made Albert Preu example and fatherly friend alike to his partners and employees. Albert Preu succeeded in combining theoretical and applied science, for which he is still regarded a great lawyer today, also thanks to the perfect combination of theoretical reasoning, practical experience and extraordinary didactic skills.

Mehr als 50 Jahre Erfahrung

Der Name der Kanzlei geht auf die Gründer der Kanzlei Prof. Dr. Albert Preu und Dr. Manfred Bohlig, LL.M. (Harvard) zurück.


Albert Preu absolvierte Ende der 40er Jahre das Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Erlangen und war zunächst in Nürnberg als Anwalt tätig. 1959 zog er nach München und gründete im gleichen Jahr eine Kanzlei für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz. 1964 verband er sich beruflich mit Manfred Bohlig und legte den Grundstein zur Kanzlei Preu Bohlig & Partner.


Mit einem Anwachsen der Kanzlei um die Partner Matthias Brandi-Dohrn und Lutz Donle, der als ehemaliger Richter in einer Patentstreitkammer eine spezifische "Sicht von der anderen Seite" mit in die Kanzlei brachte, verlegte die Kanzlei ihren Sitz Ende der 60er Jahre vom Zentrum der Stadt in den Stadtteil München-Schwabing. Dort hat die Kanzlei bis heute ihren Sitz.

Erweiterung der Rechtsgebiete

Neben dem Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz mit dem traditionellen Schwerpunkt Patentrecht, wurden seit den 70er Jahren verstärkt das Wirtschafts-, Gesellschafts-, Steuer- und Arbeitsrecht gepflegt.

Aufbau weiterer Standorte

Parallel erfolgte eine Ausweitung der Kanzlei auf weitere Standorte in Deutschland. Unmittelbar nach der Wende wurde das Berliner Büro von Preu Bohlig & Partner gegründet. Die Standorte Hamburg und Düsseldorf folgten nur wenige Jahre danach.

Kanzleijubiläum

2009 feierte Preu Bohlig & Partner ihr 50-jähriges Kanzleijubiläum. An den Kanzleistandorten fanden zu den Themen "Zukunft gestalten", "Markenrecht" und "Patentrecht" Jubiläumsfeiern für die Mandanten statt.



Gründer Prof. Dr. Albert Preu

Prof. Dr. Albert Preu gilt bis heute als einer der herausragenden Anwälte im Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.


Albert Preu absolvierte Ende der 40er Jahre das Studium der Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Erlangen und entwickelte eine Leidenschaft für das Patentrecht und den Anwaltsberuf. Aufgrund der Bedeutung des Standorts München im Patentrecht ging Albert Preu nach München, wo er 1959 eine Kanzlei für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz gründete.


Der Universität Erlangen blieb er als Lehrbeauftragter für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und später als Honorarprofessor verbunden. Aus seiner Initiative entstand der "Preu-Kurs", in dem wir bis heute angehende Patentanwälte auf die Abschlussprüfung vorbereiten.


Albert Preu vertrat Mandanten in zahlreichen Verfahren vor den Instanzgerichten, dem Bundespatentgericht sowie dem Bundesgerichtshof und beeinflusste wesentlich die Rechtsprechung im Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.


Mit seinem umfassenden Wissen, seinem reichen Erfahrungsschatz, seiner schöpferischen Phantasie und ganz besonders seiner menschlichen Zuwendung war Albert Preu für seine Sozien und Mitarbeiter Vorbild und väterlicher Freund zugleich. Albert Preu vereinte Wissenschaft und Praxis in idealer Weise. Die glückliche Verbindung von theoretischem Denken, praktischer Erfahrung und außergewöhnlicher didaktischer Begabung machen ihn bis heute zu einem großen Anwalt.